Maker Challenge Day 17: Ladder holder

1 minute read

With a small home and a lot of tools, space is at a premium here, so we’ve had to make a lot of use of vertical space. It’s effective but my (lack of) height is a bit of an inconvenience. It can be hard for me to reach things at times, so I keep a ladder easily accessible. After bruising a toe walking into it again the other day, I decided to get it up on the wall where I could reach it easily but keep it out of the way.

front view

This one was pretty easy after making a bunch of other interlocking parts and wall mounted designs. I replaced the screw holes with a slot to reduce the accuracy needed when drilling holes in the wall. I also doubled up on the hooks (the two hooks are actually a total of four sheets of material thick) for additional strength. Overall, pretty simple. The laser kerf is the perfect thickness to get the parts fitting together nicely. The only exception was the holes that the double-thickness hook went into, which required slight widening. I added .015” to the width of the hole, and everything fit together nicely. You can see the double hooks a little better on the picture below.

back view

Materials:

If you’d like, you can download my files as SVG here.