Maker Challenge Day 14: Wood and Thread Pendant

less than 1 minute read

Here’s a simple one for tonight while I prepare some larger projects for the weekend.

wood and string pendant

I used to make similar designs using punched holes in paper. With a wooden frame instead, this is much more durable. I included a hole to run a jump ring through and use this as a pendant or a keychain as well.

The process of making this was pretty simple. I could have used holes to make things a little more secure, but didn’t feel like digging up a needle so I used slots instead. After that, I wrapped the string, going in one direction and skipping the same number of holes each time.

This weekend, I’ll be making a larger object with the same method as part of a collaborative project taking place at NOMCON.

Materials:

You can download my design here.

Creative Commons License
Wood and Thread Pendant by Jackie Gerstein is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.