Maker Challenge Day 3: Hanging Lamp

less than 1 minute read

After an easy one yesterday, today is a bigger challenge - a wooden hanging lamp. I’ve got an LED Edison lamp-style lightbulb, and wanted something open to show off the bulb (although it’s hard to see in photos).

This was a much trickier one to do. I modeled it up in Fusion, starting with a model of the lamp base itself. By modeling the lamp, I was able to render and get a better feel for what the entire assembly would look like. A wooden ring slips onto the lamp base and is held in place by a screw-on ring that comes with the lamp. Slots in the ring hold the panels, and a second ring provides support. Most of the time was making tweaks to the design to get it looking the way I wanted.

rendered lamp

hanging lamp

Materials:

You can download my design here.

Creative Commons License
Hanging Lamp by Jackie Gerstein is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.